An Introduction to the Birds of Tropical America

    Cormorants, Boobies, and allies  

Suliformes is a new 'order' in the classification of birds, and includes four types of birds: Cormorants, Darters, Boobies and Frigatebirds.

Nazca Booby
Nazca Booby (Sula granti)
Bahia Solano, Choco, Colombia
Boobies live at sea usually far from shore, unless they are nesting.

Anhinga (Anhinga anhinga) Female
Green Cay Nature Center, Delray Beach, Florida, USA
The Anhinga, sometimes called the 'snake bird', has a long flexible neck and catches fish by piercing them with its sharp bill. Here it is seen drying its wings. The Anhinga doesn't have oil in it's feathers as do many ducks, which helps when diving but not when flying wet.

Double-crested Cormorant
Double-crested Cormorant (Phalacrocorax auritus)
Shark Valley, Florida, USA
All birds in the order Suliformes are 100% fish eaters.

Peruvian Booby
Peruvian Booby (Sula variegata)
Islas Ballestas, Peru
Boobies nest often in very large numbers on remote islands.

Magnificent Frigatebird
Magnificent Frigatebird (Fregata magnificens) Female
Dry Tortugas National Park, Florida, USA
Magnificent Frigatebirds can have a wingspan of over six feet, yet weigh just three pounds. They are sometimes called Pirate Birds because they chase smaller sea birds when they have food.

© Tom Friedel - All Rights Reserved.